GateHouse (WL Bridgewatereast)

The AP Pro32

You are here

As Voted by Jeff Legwold

Follow Jeff Legwold on Twitter @Jeff_Legwold
(###) Number of first place votes
RankTeamRecordPointsPV Rank
1Philadelphia Eagles (2)11-23633
2Pittsburgh Steelers (9)11-23814
3New England Patriots (1)10-33621
4Minnesota Vikings10-33522
5Jacksonville Jaguars9-43079
6Los Angeles Rams9-43265
7New Orleans Saints9-43236
8Carolina Panthers9-43188
9Seattle Seahawks8-52767
10Tennessee Titans8-524110
11Atlanta Falcons8-527911
12Los Angeles Chargers7-626413
13Baltimore Ravens7-624512
14Green Bay Packers7-620818
15Oakland Raiders6-715815
16Kansas City Chiefs7-623414
17Buffalo Bills7-618719
18Detroit Lions7-619616
19Dallas Cowboys7-620616
20Miami Dolphins6-716524
21Washington Redskins5-813021
22Cincinnati Bengals5-810822
23Arizona Cardinals6-715123
24Denver Broncos4-98430
25New York Jets5-810820
26San Francisco 49ers3-107727
27Chicago Bears4-96929
28Houston Texans4-97725
29Indianapolis Colts3-103428
30Tampa Bay Buccaneers4-96826
31New York Giants2-112731
32Cleveland Browns0-131232

Jeff Legwold

Jeff Legwold covers the NFL and the Broncos for ESPN/ This will be his 10th season in Denver after five years at Rocky Mountain News and four years at Denver Post. He also covered the Titans for nine years and has covered the Steelers and Bills. He has been a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame Board of Selectors since 1999 and is currently first vice president of the Pro Football Writers of America. 

Jeff Legwold
Follow @name on Twitter @twitter

Poll Methodology

The AP Pro32 is determined by a simple points system based on how each voter ranks the NFL's 32 teams. A team receives 32 points for each first place vote, 31 for second place and so on through to the 32nd team, which receives one point. The rankings are set by listing the teams' point totals from highest to lowest. The mathematical formula is the same as the one used for the AP Top 25 rankings for college football, men's basketball and women's basketball.

History of the Poll

The Associated Press began the AP Pro32 NFL power rankings in 2012. A national panel of 12 voters will participate in the selection process this year. Each voter is among the 50 sports writers and broadcasters who choose the NFL's individual awards at the end of the season. All of the voters have an extensive background in covering the NFL. Some of them — Tony Dungy and Herm Edwards — played and coached in the league. Others — Jim Miller — played in the league. Each week beginning on Sept. 3, AP Pro32 will be updated and comments from some of the voters will be included in a story that accompanies the latest team rankings. In addition, a link to the will be included at the bottom of AP stories throughout the preseason and regular season.