GateHouse (WL Bridgewatereast)

The AP Pro32

You are here

As Voted by Rick Gosselin

Dallas Morning News
Follow Rick Gosselin on Twitter @RickGosselinDMN
(###) Number of first place votes
RankTeamRecordPointsPV Rank
1New England Patriots (9)10-23812
2Minnesota Vikings (2)10-23693
3Philadelphia Eagles (1)10-23591
4Pittsburgh Steelers10-23503
5Los Angeles Rams9-33345
6New Orleans Saints9-33286
7Seattle Seahawks8-43139
8Carolina Panthers8-42937
9Tennessee Titans8-427211
10Jacksonville Jaguars8-428410
11Atlanta Falcons7-52668
12Los Angeles Chargers6-625013
13Baltimore Ravens7-525514
14Oakland Raiders6-620119
15Dallas Cowboys6-619518
16Detroit Lions6-619512
17Kansas City Chiefs6-620615
18Green Bay Packers6-619421
19Buffalo Bills6-618416
20New York Jets5-714824
21Miami Dolphins5-711426
22Cincinnati Bengals5-714220
23Washington Redskins5-714317
24Arizona Cardinals5-712321
25Houston Texans4-89623
26Tampa Bay Buccaneers4-88625
27Chicago Bears3-95229
28Denver Broncos3-94927
29Indianapolis Colts3-95528
30San Francisco 49ers2-105931
31New York Giants2-102830
32Cleveland Browns0-121232

Rick Gosselin

Rick Gosselin enters his 45th season reporting on the NFL in 2017. He has covered the Lions, Giants, Chiefs and Cowboys in his career plus 34 Super Bowls. He has served on the Hall of Fame selection committee for 22 years and is a member of both the senior and contributor subcommittees. 

Dallas Morning News
Follow @name on Twitter @twitter

Poll Methodology

The AP Pro32 is determined by a simple points system based on how each voter ranks the NFL's 32 teams. A team receives 32 points for each first place vote, 31 for second place and so on through to the 32nd team, which receives one point. The rankings are set by listing the teams' point totals from highest to lowest. The mathematical formula is the same as the one used for the AP Top 25 rankings for college football, men's basketball and women's basketball.

History of the Poll

The Associated Press began the AP Pro32 NFL power rankings in 2012. A national panel of 12 voters will participate in the selection process this year. Each voter is among the 50 sports writers and broadcasters who choose the NFL's individual awards at the end of the season. All of the voters have an extensive background in covering the NFL. Some of them — Tony Dungy and Herm Edwards — played and coached in the league. Others — Jim Miller — played in the league. Each week beginning on Sept. 3, AP Pro32 will be updated and comments from some of the voters will be included in a story that accompanies the latest team rankings. In addition, a link to the will be included at the bottom of AP stories throughout the preseason and regular season.