Pro32: Head to Head

The AP Pro32

You are here

As Voted by Rick Gosselin

Dallas Morning News
Follow Rick Gosselin on Twitter @RickGosselinDMN
(###) Number of first place votes
RankTeamRecordPointsPV Rank
1New Orleans Saints (11)12-23822
2Los Angeles Chargers (1)11-33684
3Kansas City Chiefs11-33601
4Chicago Bears10-43456
5Houston Texans10-43247
6Los Angeles Rams11-33373
7New England Patriots9-53075
8Indianapolis Colts8-627911
9Pittsburgh Steelers8-5-130610
10Tennessee Titans8-623714
11Seattle Seahawks8-62688
12Dallas Cowboys8-62609
13Baltimore Ravens8-625612
14Minnesota Vikings7-6-124713
15Philadelphia Eagles7-722016
16Miami Dolphins7-718715
17Washington Redskins7-717224
18Cleveland Browns6-7-120120
19Carolina Panthers6-816617
20Denver Broncos6-814718
21Cincinnati Bengals6-89428
22Atlanta Falcons5-911825
23Buffalo Bills5-99527
24Green Bay Packers5-8-115319
25Tampa Bay Buccaneers5-910822
26Detroit Lions5-99523
27New York Giants5-911221
28New York Jets4-105226
29San Francisco 49ers4-106231
30Jacksonville Jaguars4-103829
31Oakland Raiders3-112830
32Arizona Cardinals3-111232

Rick Gosselin

Rick Gosselin enters his 45th season reporting on the NFL in 2017. He has covered the Lions, Giants, Chiefs and Cowboys in his career plus 34 Super Bowls. He has served on the Hall of Fame selection committee for 22 years and is a member of both the senior and contributor subcommittees. 

Dallas Morning News
Follow @name on Twitter @twitter

Poll Methodology

The AP Pro32 is determined by a simple points system based on how each voter ranks the NFL's 32 teams. A team receives 32 points for each first place vote, 31 for second place and so on through to the 32nd team, which receives one point. The rankings are set by listing the teams' point totals from highest to lowest. The mathematical formula is the same as the one used for the AP Top 25 rankings for college football, men's basketball and women's basketball.

History of the Poll

The Associated Press began the AP Pro32 NFL power rankings in 2012. A national panel of 12 voters will participate in the selection process this year. Each voter is among the 50 sports writers and broadcasters who choose the NFL's individual awards at the end of the season. All of the voters have an extensive background in covering the NFL. Some of them — Tony Dungy and Herm Edwards — played and coached in the league. Others — Jim Miller — played in the league. Each week beginning on Sept. 3, AP Pro32 will be updated and comments from some of the voters will be included in a story that accompanies the latest team rankings. In addition, a link to the will be included at the bottom of AP stories throughout the preseason and regular season.